My favourite horror movies to watch on Netflix Australia.

When I first started this blog, a friend of mine gave me some really good advice about keeping it active. He said “write about things that piss you off, because that is where your passion is.”I might be paraphrasing because we had been drinking but he was absolutely right. Now I see a bunch of these “best horror movies on Netflix” lists, but if you’re like me and live in Australia most of those movies aren’t available here and it just makes me angry. So this is my list of the best horror movies available on Netflix Australia.

unnamed (1)1114022035..jpg

The Ritual 2017 – Directed by David Bruckner.
After the tragic death of their friend, 4 guys go on a memorial hike through the Swedish woods.
I’m sure by now you have all heard the hype about this movie. It is cool as fuck and the monster design in the most original I have seen in years. Go watch it.

images (10)1421688159..jpg

Jennifer’s Body 2009 – Directed by Karyn Kusama.
One night after a mysterious fire at a bar, Jennifer shows up at her best friends house covered in blood and spewing black liquid. She then proceeds to eat her way through the male population, can her best friend stop her?
I think most people overlooked this movie because of Megan Fox, but I think it is brilliant and 1000% worth the watch.

images (11)946045918..jpg

Knock Knock 2015 – Directed by Eli Roth.
Eli Roth has given us his take on the home invasion genre, if you’re expecting Hostel like gore, you’re going to be sadly disappointed, but you are going to get a incredibly tense cat and mouse style movie that had me saying “what the fuck” more than once.

images (12)1826810323..jpg

Creep 2014 – Directed by Patrick Brice.
Joseph (Marc Duplass) hires Aaron, a videographer to record his dying words. It takes a super creepy turn when Aaron tries to leave but finds that his keys are missing.
This movie came out of nowhere and blew me away, it isn’t necessarily scary, (although there is some jump scares) but it is creepy as fuck. You will definitely be left feeling unsettled at the end.

images (13)967249921..jpg

Creep 2 – 2017 Directed by Patrick Brice.
Sara is a video blogger who focuses on weird, lonely men, so when she comes across Aaron (Duplass) claiming to be a serial killer, she thinks she has hit the jackpot but things obviously take a turn for the worst otherwise it wouldn’t be on this list.
I think this movie can work as a stand alone, but for full effect the first should definitely be seen before hand.

images (14)1763450621..jpg

Holidays 2017
Holidays is an Anthology film that puts a fucked up spin on all of your favourite holidays. With directors like Kevin Smith, Gary Shore and Anthony Scott Burns just to name a few, this is a must watch for any horror fan.

images (15)1246498426..jpg

Clown 2014 – Directed by Jon Watts.
A father desperate to impress his son, puts on a vintage clown suit only to find that he can’t take it off.
This movie is so fucking good, the ending is slightly predicatable but I don’t think that takes away from how original this idea is. I’ve seen a gross amount of clown movies, but never one like this. Seriously, you have to watch this fucking movie.

images (16)1737714235..jpg

Wyrmwood: Road of the Dead 2014 – Directed by Kiah Roache-Turner.
Set in Australia during a zombie outbreak, Barry’s sister is kidnapped by a bunch of creep ass gas mask wearing soldiers, so he sets out to find her and meets some hilarious and unlikely heroes on the way.
Now I am going to start by saying this movie is absolutely ridiculous and I’m not sure if it is meant to be funny, but I was in absolute stitches throughout most of the movie. I believe this is an accurate representation of what would happen if a zombie outbreak happened here.

images (17)146745416..jpg

Shelter 2010 – Directed by Måns Mårlind and Björn Stein.
Julianne Moore plays a forensic psychiatrist who takes on a new case where the patient has multiple personalities, but she soon discovers that all of his personalities are murder victims. I was conflicted about putting this movie on this list, I remember really liking this movie, but I cannot for the life of me remember why. I remember there being a bit of a plot twist or a WTF moment, but I can’t remember what it was.

images (18)1836777565..jpg

The Babysitter 2017 – Directed by McG.
When Cole decided to sneak out after his bedtime and spy on his baby sitter, he wasn’t expecting to find her performing a satanic ritual.
This movie is bomb as fuck, I’m not going to say anything else about it. Just go watch it.

images (19)1227976595..jpg

Don’t Knock Twice 2016 – Directed by Caradog W. James.
Chloe and Danny go out one night and decide to challenge an urban legend by knocking on the door of a witch, Mary Aminov. Things start to go terribly wrong so she takes refuge at her estranged mothers house, where things continue to go terribly wrong. I have already drunkenly reviewed this movie so if you wanna hear my thoughts click here Don’t Knock Twice.

images (20)1189713141..jpg
Krampus 2015 – Directed by Michael Dougherty.
When young Max’s Christmas turns to shit he accidentally summons Krampus, a demon who is kind of like and anti Santa, bringing death and destruction instead of presents and joy.
Pay attention! This is very important! Make sure you watch Krampus, not Krampus: The Christmas Devil, because that movie is absolute shite.
So there you go guys, my top 12 favourite horror movies on Australian Netflix!

Leave a comment